Students are often required to request authorization to register for particular courses, especially courses that require successful completion of prerequisite courses. Below are the contact details of faculty and staff who can provide authorization for your courses, if needed.

Please locate the department offering the course that requires authorization and contact the listed person or people.

El Centro

For all courses offered at El Centro:

(773) 442-4080

College of Arts and Sciences

African and African American Students (AFAM)

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
LWH 2040 / LWH 2096

Anthropology (ANTH)

Cindy Jones
(773) 442-5690
c-jones@neiu.edu
BBH 346C

Art (ART) 

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
FA 105B

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-4910
p-goldman@neiu.edu
FA 105B

Biology (BIO)

Tina Pennekamp
(773) 442-5740
tm-pennekamp@neiu.edu
BBH 358G

Biology Dept.
(773) 442-5740
biology@neiu.edup-goldman@neiu.edu

Chemistry (CHEM)

Lynn Payer
(773) 442-5760
l-payer@neiu.edu
BBH 214H

Child Advocacy Studies (CAST)

Carol Martin
(773) 442-4790
c-martin@neiu.edu
LWH 4062

Communication, Media and Theatre (CMT)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
FA 240

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-4910
p-goldman@neiu.edu
FA 240

Computer Science (CS) 

Susan Snyder
(773) 442-4722
sm-snyder@neiu.edu
LWH 3053

Alicia Perez
(773) 442-4720
a-perez6@neiu.edu
LWH 3053

Dance (DANC)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
FA 240

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-4910
p-goldman@neiu.edu
FA 240

Earth Science (ESCI)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
ld-costea@neiu.edu
BBH 217E

Dr. Paulo Acioli
(773) 442-4733
p-acioli@neiu.edu

Economics (ECON)

Cindy Jones
(773) 442-5690
c-jones@neiu.edu
BBH 346C

Dr. Mike Wenz
(773) 442-5597
m-wenz@neiu.edu

English (ENG)

Toni Scott
(773) 442-5829
t-scott1@neiu.edu
LWH 2012

Dr. Tim Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5837
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

English Language Program (ELP)

Dr. Tina Villa
(773) 442-5480
t-kontelas@neiu.edu

Environmental Science (ENVI)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
ld-costea@neiu.edu
BBH 217E

Geography and Environmental Studies (G&ES)

Cindy Jones
(773) 442-5640
c-jones@neiu.edu
BBH 346C

Global Studies (GS)

Cindy Jones
(773) 442-5690
c-jones@neiu.edu
BBH 346C

Dr. Erick Howenstine
(773) 442-5647
e-howenstine@neiu.edu

History (HIST)

Carol Martin
(773) 442-4790
c-martin@neiu.edu
LWH 4062

Justice Studies (JUST)

Carol Martin
(773) 442-4790
c-martin@neiu.edu
LWH 4062

Dr. T.Y. Okosun
(773) 442-5453
t-okosun@neiu.edu

Latino/a and Latin American Studies (LLAS)

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
LWH 2040 / LWH 2906

Linguistics (LING) 

Toni Scott
(773) 442-5829
t-scott1@neiu.edu
LWH 2012

Dr. Tim Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

Math (MATH)

Alan Mace
(773) 442-5760
b-mace@neiu.edu
BBH 214C

Math Dept.
(773) 442-5760
math@neiu.edu
 

Course Authorization Request

Math Development (DEV)

Lynn Payer
(773) 442-5767
l-payer@neiu.edu (email preferred)
BBH 214B

Dr. Stevan Ranney
(773) 442-5766
s-ranney@neiu.edu

Music (MUS) 

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
FA 240

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-4910
p-goldman@neiu.edu

Philosophy (PHIL)

Alicia Perez
(773) 442-5795
a-perez6@neiu.edu
LWH 3062

Physics (PHYS)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
l-costea@neiu.edu
BBH 217E

Dr. Elisabet Head
(773) 442-6055
e-head@neiu.edu

Dr. Paulo Acioli
(773) 442-4733
p-acioli@neiu.edu

Political Science (PSCI) 

Uma Patel
(773) 442-5660
u-patel@neiu.edu
LWH 2080

Dr. Marshall Thompson
(773) 442-4269
m-thompson4@neiu.edu

Psychology (PSYC)

Ramon Viera
(773) 442-5842
r-viera@neiu.edu
BBH 313F

Kristin Wilkens
(773) 442-4760
kl-wilkins@neiu.edu
LWH 2090

Social Work (SWK)

Dr. Jade Stanley
(773) 442-4764
j-stanley@neiu.edu

Sociology (SOC) 

Uma Patel
(773) 442-5660
u-patel@neiu.edu
LWH 2080

Dr. Andreas Savas Kourvetaris
(773) 442-4774
a-kourvetaris@neiu.edu
Student Center for Science Engagement (SCSE) Cynthia Roth-Garfield
(773) 442-5644
c-rothgarfield@neiu.edu
BBH 235

Rey Ayon
(773) 442-5646
r-ayon@neiu.edu
BBH 135

Shreya Patel, PhD
(773) 442-5663
s-patel93@neiu.edu
BBH 235

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5837
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

Women’s and Gender Studies (WGS) 

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
LWH 2040 / LWH 2096

World Languages and Cultures (WLC) 

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
LWH 2040 / LWH 2096

College of Business and Management

For undergraduate College of Business and Management courses:

COBM Advisement Office
(773) 442-6111
CBM 159

For graduate College of Business and Management courses:

Dr. Charletta Gutierrez Coordinator, Graduate Studies
(773) 442-6128

Vladimir Fernandez
Coordinator, Advising & Outreach
(773) 442-6112

Daniel L. Goodwin College of Education

General Goodwin College of Education undergraduate admissions questions

Marlena Kruk
(773) 442-5500
m-kruk@neiu.edu
LWH 4045

 

Bilingual/Bicultural Education

Ebony Jimenez-Lee
(774) 442-5933
e-jiminezlee@neiu.edu
LWH 0016

 

Community Heath

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
PE 1131

 
Community and Teacher Leader, M.A.

Santiago Tapia
(773) 442-5473
s-tapia@neiu.edu
LWH 0022/LWH 4005

 

Early Childhood Education

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
PE 1131

 

Educational Inquiry and Curriculum Studies 

Florina Sirb
(773) 442-5517
f-sirb@neiu.edu
LWH 4010

 

Health Education 

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
PE 1131

 

Literacy, Leadership and Development 

Florina Sirb
(773) 442-5517
f-sirb@neiu.edu
LWH 4010

 

Physical Education

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
PE 1131

 

Special Education 

Judy Brewer
(773) 442-5380
j-brewer@neiu.edu
LWH 3040

For B.A. Special Education, Focus LBS I and LBS II:

Ebony Jimenez-Lee
(774) 442-5933
e-jiminezlee@neiu.edu
LWH 0016

Teacher Education 

Judy Brewer
(773) 442-5380
j-brewer@neiu.edu
LWH 3040