Students are often required to request authorization to register for particular courses, especially courses that require successful completion of prerequisite courses. Below are the contact details of faculty and staff who can provide authorization for your courses, if needed.

Please locate the department offering the course that requires authorization and contact the listed person or people.

El Centro

For all courses offered at El Centro:

(773) 442-4080

College of Arts and Sciences

African and African American Students (AFAM)

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2040/LWH 2096

 

Anthropology (ANTH)

Lauren DeMaat
(773) 442-5860
l-demaat@neiu.edu
Room BBH 134

 

Art (ART)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-4910
j-wade@neiu.edu
Room FA 105B

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-4910
p-goldman@neiu.edu
Room FA 105B

Biology (BIO)

Tina Pennekamp
(773) 442-5740
tm-pennekamp@neiu.edu
Room BBH 358G

Biology Dept.
(773) 442-5740
biology@neiu.edu

Chemistry (CHEM)

Lynn Payer
(773) 442-5760
l-payer@neiu.edu
Room BBH 214H

 

Child Advocacy Studies (CAST)

Ymelda Viramontes
(773) 442-4790
y-viramontes@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4062

 

Communication, Media and Theatre (CMT)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5950
j-wade@neiu.edu
Room FA 240

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-5950
p-goldman@neiu.edu
Room FA 240

Computer Science (CS)

Alicia Perez
(773) 442-4722
a-perez6@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3057

Martha Vazquez
(773) 442-4720
m-narvaez@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3053

Dance (DANC)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
Room FA 128

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-5900
p-goldman@neiu.edu
Room FA 128

Earth Science (ESCI)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
ld-costea@neiu.edu
Room BBH 217E

Dr. Elisabet Head
(773) 442-6055
e-head@neiu.edu

Economics (ECON)

Lauren DeMaat
(773) 442-5690
l-demaat@neiu.edu
Room BBH 346C

 

English (ENG)

Hilary Jirka
(773) 442-5829
h-jirka2@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2010

Dr. Tim Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Perla Torres
(773) 442-5870
p-torres6@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3062

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5837
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

English Language Program (ELP)

Perla Torres
(773) 442-5870
p-torres6@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3062

Dr. Tina Villa
(773) 442-5480
t-kontelas@neiu.edu

Environmental Science (ENVI)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
ld-costea@neiu.edu
BBH 217E

Dr. Paulo Acioli
(773) 442-4733
p-acioli@neiu.edu

Geography and Environmental Studies (G&ES)

Lauren DeMaat
(773) 442-5690
l-demaat@neiu.edu
Room BBH 346C

Dr. Erick Howenstine
(773) 442-5647
e-howenstine@neiu.edu

Global Studies (GS)

Lauren DeMaat
(773) 442-5860
l-demaat@neiu.edu
Room BBH 134

 

History (HIST)

Ymelda Viramontes
(773) 442-4790
y-viramontes@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4062

 

Justice Studies (JUST)

Ymelda Viramontes
(773) 442-4790
y-viramontes@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4062

Maria De La Torre
(773) 442-5452
m-delatorre@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4062

Latino/a and Latin American Studies (LLAS)

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2040/LWH 2906

 

Linguistics (LING)

Hilary Jirka
(773) 442-5829
h-jirka2@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2010

Dr. Rick Hallett
(773) 4420-5879
r-hallett@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2030

Math (MATH)

Alan Mace
(773) 442-5760
b-mace@neiu.edu
Room BBH 214C

Math Dept.
(773) 442-5760
math@neiu.edu

Course Authorization Request

Math Development (DEV)

Lynn Payer
(773) 442-5767
l-payer@neiu.edu 
(email preferred)
Room BBH 214B

Dr. Matthew Graham
(773) 442-5758
md-graham@neiu.edu
Room BBH 225C

Music (MUS)

Jeff Wade
(773) 442-5900
j-wade@neiu.edu
Room FA 128

Peter Goldman
(773) 442-5900
p-goldman@neiu.edu
Room FA 128

Philosophy (PHIL)

Martha Vazquez
(773) 442-5795
m-narvaez@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3062

 

Physics (PHYS)

Lidia Costea
(773) 442-6050
l-costea@neiu.edu
Room BBH 217E

Dr. Paulo Acioli
(773) 442-4733
p-acioli@neiu.edu

Political Science (PSCI) 

Uma Patel
(773) 442-5660
u-patel@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2080

Dr. Marshall Thompson
(773) 442-4269
m-thompson4@neiu.edu

Psychology (PSYC)

 

Kristin Wilkens
(773) 442-4760
kl-wilkins@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2090

Social Work (SWK)

Cody Budd
(773) 442-4760
c-budd@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3077

 

Sociology (SOC)

Uma Patel
(773) 442-5660
u-patel@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2080

Dr. Andreas Savas Kourvetaris
(773) 442-4774
a-kourvetaris@neiu.edu

Student Center for Science Engagement (SCSE)

Cynthia Roth-Garfield
(773) 442-5644
c-rothgarfield@neiu.edu
Room BBH 235

Rey Ayon
(773) 442-5646
r-ayon@neiu.edu
BBH 135

Shreya Patel, PhD
(773) 442-5663
s-patel93@neiu.edu
Room BBH 235

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Perla Torres
(773) 442-5870
p-torres6@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3062

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5837
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

Women’s and Gender Studies (WGS) 

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2040/LWH 2096

Dr. Brooke Johnson
(773) 442-4771
b-johnson1@neiu.edu

World Languages and Cultures (WLC) 

Jeanette Hernandez
(773) 442-4740
j-hernandez-kalin@neiu.edu
Room LWH 2040/LWH 2096

Dr. Denise Cloonan
(773) 442-4741
d-cloonan@neiu.edu

College of Business and Technology

For undergraduate College of Business and Technology courses:

CBT Advisement Office
(773) 442-6111
Room CBT 159

For graduate College of Business and Technology courses:

Dr. Charletta Gutierrez Coordinator, Graduate Studies
(773) 442-6128

Vladimir Fernandez
Coordinator, Advising & Outreach
(773) 442-6112

Daniel L. Goodwin College of Education

General Goodwin College of Education undergraduate admissions questions

Marlena Kruk
(773) 442-5500
m-kruk@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4045

 

Bilingual/Bicultural Education

Ebony Jimenez-Lee
(774) 442-5933
e-jiminezlee@neiu.edu
Room LWH 0016

 

Community Heath

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
Room PE 1131

 

Community and Teacher Leaders, M.A.

Santiago Tapia
(773) 442-5473
s-tapia@neiu.edu
Room LWH 0022/LWH 4005

 

Early Childhood Education

Vanessa King
(773) 442-5387
v-king@neiu.edu
Room LWH 0018

 

Educational Inquiry and Curriculum Studies 

Florina Sirb
(773) 442-5517
f-sirb@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4010

 

Health Education 

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
Room PE 1131

 

Literacy, Leadership and Development 

Florina Sirb
(773) 442-5517
f-sirb@neiu.edu
Room LWH 4010

 

Physical Education

Marianne Morrissey
(773) 442-4159
m-morrissey1@neu.edu
Room PE 1131

 

Special Education 

Cassandra Martinez
(773) 442-5380
c-martinez37@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3040

For B.A. Special Education, Focus LBS I and LBS II:

Ebony Jimenez-Lee
(774) 442-5933
e-jiminezlee@neiu.edu
Room LWH 0016

Teacher Education 

Cassandra Martinez
(773) 442-5380
c-martinez37@neiu.edu
Room LWH 3040