The Nuevas Voces Contest and Festival was founded by alumnus and former Northeastern professor Jim Blair to create a platform at Northeastern Illinois University for new playwrights; Nuevas Voces at NEIU and the greater Chicago community. Jim Blair also teaches a playwriting workshop each spring through NEIU's Office of Community & Professional Education.

Nuevas Voces 10-Minute Play festival, October 2020

Director: Leslie Hull

Performances Dates:

  • Thursday, Oct. 1: Reception at 6:30 p.m. in the Lobby
  • Thursday, Oct. 1: Performance at 7:30 p.m.; post-show talkback to follow!
  • Friday, Oct. 2: Performance at 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 3: Performance at 2 p.m.


4th Annual Playwriting Contest is in Spring 2020

**NEW** Submission Deadline: Feb. 1, 2020
Winners Announced: March 15, 2020

Entry Categories

  • Current high school students in Illinois
  • Current NEIU or other college students in Illinois, ages 17-28 (full- or part-time)
  • NEIU and the greater community, age 29+. Must be an Illinois resident.


  • A $15 registration fee will be required unless you are enrolled in Jim Blair's non-credit Playwriting Workshop, or enrolled in the Department of Communication, Media and Theatre's Playwriting course.


Submission Information

Email Your Submission

  • Send your submission in Word or PDF format to Sarah J. Fabian at In the subject line of the email, write Nuevas Voces 2020 Play Submission.
  • Please submit a separate cover page with your name, phone number and email. We will remove the cover and assign each play a number. Do not include your name anywhere else but on your cover page.
  • Please use 12-point font and double space between speakers.
  • The cast may not exceed five actors.
  • Make sure you time your play so that it is 10 minutes or less. Longer plays cannot be considered for performance.
  • Please submit translations if any of your dialogue is in a language other than English.
  • Only one submission per playwright.
  • The author’s name must NOT appear on any of the pages except for the cover sheet
  • Pages should be numbered


  • The Nuevas Voces: A 10-Minute Playwriting Contest and Festival will consider only original work.
  • Submitted plays that are based on any other published work, including but not limited to novels, short stories, films, teleplays, other theatrical scripts, etc., unless also written by the submitting author(s), are ineligible.
  • Judges will make final production decisions based on the quality of the work and practicality of production, and such decisions shall be final. 

The 2020 Nuevas Voces Judges are:

  • Sarah J. Fabian, M.F.A.: CMT Department Assistant Professor and Managing Director of Stage Center Theatre
  • Adam Goldstein, M.F.A.: CMT Department Assistant Professor and Artistic Director of Stage Center Theatre
  • Leslie Hull, M.F.A.: CMT Department Instructor and Director of Nuevas Voces 2020
  • Ariel Notterman: NEIU alumna (B.A. '19, Communication, Media and Theatre) and winner in Nuevas Voces January 2019 ("Meet Me in the Parking Lot", 2nd Place) and October 2019 ("Frosted", 3rd Place) contests.

Prior Contest Winners!

October 2020 Winners - Check Back soon!

First Place: 
Second Place:
Third Place:
Honorable Mention: 

October 2019 Winners

First Place: Shannon Naylor, "The Fear of the Little Things"
Second Place:
Emily Feldman, "Live It Up List"
Third Place: Ariel Notterman, "Frosted" 
Honorable Mention: James Jarvis, "Too True to Be Good" 

January 2019 Winners

First Place: Diego Roman, "Enough" (Current College Category)
Second Place: Ariel Notterman, "Meet Me in the Parking Lot" (Current College Category)
Third Place: Becca Peterson, "A Private Hell" (Current College Category)

First Place: Dan Wirth, "Full Life" (NEIU and Greater Community 29+ Category)
Second Place: Sidney Davis III, "Crisis of Independence" (NEIU and Greater Community 29+ Category)

January 2018 Winners

First Place: Dalton Brown, "Spring Cleaning" (Current College Category)
Second Place: Becca Peterson, "Talking the Talk" (Current College Category)
Third Place: Becca Peterson, "A Private Hell" (Current College Category)

First Place: Felicia Madlock, "Anna's Assumptions" (NEIU and Greater Community 29+ Category)
Second Place: Dan Wirth, "Shed" (NEIU & Greater Community 29+ Category)
Honorable Mention: Mike Palatnik, "An Unusual Bar" (NEIU and Greater Community 29+ Category)