Welcome, new and returning students! For fall and spring semesters, please contact your Graduate Advisor listed below. For summer semester, contact both your Advisor and Department Chair.  

College of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Program

Graduate Advisor

Department Chair

Biology, M.S.

 

Dr. Jorge Cantu
(773) 442-5743
j-cantu@neiu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Slate
(773) 442-5734
j-slate@neiu.edu

Chemistry, M.S

 

Dr. Jing Su
(773) 442-5773
j-su@neiu.edu

Dr. Kenneth Nicholson
(773) 442-5691
k-nicholson@neiu.edu

Communication, Media and Theatre, M.A.

 

Dr. Seung-Hwan Mun
(773) 442-5868
s-mun@neiu.edu

Cyndi Moran, M.F.A.
(773) 442-5977
c-moran1@neiu.edu

English, M.A. (Composition)

 

Dr. Marcia Buell
(773) 442-5955
m-buell@neiu.edu

Dr. Timothy Barnett
(773) 442-6030
t-barnett1@neiu.edu  

Dr. Timothy Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

English, M.A. (Literature)

 

Dr. Kristen Over
(773) 442-5833
k-over@neiu.edu

Dr. Timothy Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

Geography & Environmental Studies, M.A.

 

Dr. Melinda Storie
(773) 442-5697
ms-storie@neiu.edu 

Dr. Erick Howenstine
(773) 442-5647
e-howenstine@neiu.edu

Dr. Scott Hegerty
(773) 442-5695
s-hegerty@neiu.edu Beginning July 1, 2022

Geographic Information Science (GIS)

Graduate Certificate

 

Dr. Ting Liu
(773) 442-5645
t-liu1@neiu.edu

Dr. Erick Howenstine
(773) 442-5647
e-howenstine@neiu.edu

Dr. Scott Hegerty
(773) 442-5695
s-hegerty@neiu.edu Beginning July 1, 2022

Gerontology, M.A.

 

Dr. Lisa Hollis-Sawyer
(773) 442-5846
l-hollissawyer@neiu.edu

Dr. Amanda Dykema-Engblade
(773) 442-5848
a-dykema-engblade@neiu.edu

Gerontology Senior Advocate

Certificate

 

Dr. Lisa Hollis-Sawyer
(773) 442-5846
l-hollissawyer@neiu.edu

Dr. Amanda Dykema-Engblade
(773) 442-5848
a-dykema-engblade@neiu.edu

History, M.A.

 

Dr. Christina Bueno
(773) 442-5608
c-bueno@neiu.edu

Dr. Charles Steinwedel
(773) 442-5606
c-steinwedel@neiu.edu

Latin American Literatures & Cultures, M.A.

 

Dr. Brandon Bisbey
(773) 442-4622
b-bisbey@neiu.edu         

Dr. Denise Cloonan
(773) 442-4741
d-cloonan@neiu.edu

Linguistics, M.A.

 

Dr. Lewis Gebhardt
(773) 442-5835
l-gebhardt@neiu.edu

Dr. Richard Hallett (Coordinator)
(773) 442-5879
r-hallett@neiu.edu

Dr. Timothy Scherman
(773) 442-5817
t-scherman@neiu.edu

Mathematics, M.S.

Applied Mathematics

 

 

Dr. Anna Mitina
(773) 442-5778
a-mitina@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Lidia Filus
(773) 442-5784
l-filus@neiu.edu

Mathematics, M.S.

Secondary Education

 

Dr. Philip Gwanyama
(773) 442-5781
p-gwanyama@neiu.edu

Dr. Lidia Filus
(773) 442-5784
l-filus@neiu.edu

Music, M.A.

 

Dr. Travis Heath
(773) 442-5917
t-heath@neiu.edu

Dr. Robert Heitzinger
(773) 442-5929
r-heitzinger@neiu.edu

Political Science, M.A.

 

Dr. Sophia Mihic
(773) 442-5652
s-mihic@neiu.edu

Dr. Martyn DeBruyn
(773) 442-5653
m-debruyn@neiu.edu

Social Work, M.S.W.

 

Dr. Casey Holtschneider (Interim Director)
c-holtschneider@neiu.edu

Dr. Job E. Ngwe
(773) 442-4797
j-ngwe@neiu.edu

Social Work, M.S.W.

Advanced Standing 

 

Dr. Casey Holtschneider (Interim Director)
c-holtschneider@neiu.edu

Dr. Job E. Ngwe
(773) 442-4797
j-ngwe@neiu.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, M.A. (TESOL)

 

Dr. Gina Wells
(773) 442-5883
g-wells@neiu.edu

Dr. Ulugbek Nurmukhamedov,
Acting Coordinator 
(773) 442-5876
u-nurmukhamedov@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5873
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

 

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

Certificate

 

John Armour, M.A.
(773) 442-4536
j-armour@neiu.edu

Dr. Ulugbek Nurmukhamedov,
Acting Coordinator 
(773) 442-5876
u-nurmukhamedov@neiu.edu

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza
(773) 442-5873
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

 

College of Business and Technology

Graduate Program

Graduate Advisor

Department Chair

Accounting, M.S.

 

Dr. Charletta Gutierrez

(773) 442-6128
cf-gutierrez@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Robert Cook

(773) 442-6132

r-cook2@neiu.edu

Beginning July 1, 2022

Stijepko Tokic

(773) 442-4757
s-tokic@neiu.edu

Business Administration, M.B.A.

 

Dr. Charletta Gutierrez

(773) 442-6128
cf-gutierrez@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Robert Cook

(773) 442-6132

r-cook2@neiu.edu

Beginning July 1, 2022

Dr. Li

(773) 442-6129

jli@neiu.edu

        Computer Science, M.S.

 

Dr. Ahmed Khaled
(773) 442-4727
a-khaled@neiu.edu

Dr. Xiwei Wang
(773) 442-4734
x-wang9@neiu.edu

The Goodwin College of Education 

Graduate Program

Graduate Advisor

Department Chair

Addiction Counseling Certificate

 

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Denise Romanow

(773) 442-5559

d-romanow@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, M.A.

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Mei Chen (A-H)

(773) 442-5556

m-chen@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Hulya Ermis-Demirtas (I-Q)

hu-ermis@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Zach Bloom (R-Z)

(773) 442-5553

z-bloom@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

Community and Teacher Leaders, M.A.

 

Dr. Hua Bai (Program Facilitator)

(773) 442-5248

h-bai@neiu.edu

 

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

EICS Graduate Student Support Specialist 

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Couple & Family Counseling Certificate  

 

   

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Laura Tejada (A-Z)

(773) 442-5521

l-tejada@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

 

 

 

Couple and

Family Counseling, M.A.

 

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Laura Tejada

(773) 442-5521

l-tejada@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

Educational Leadership, M.A.

Higher Education

 

Dr. Gabriel Cortez

(773) 442-5537

g-cortez@neiu.edu

Dr. Russell Wartalski

(773) 442-5504

r-wartalski@neiu.edu

Educational Leadership, M.A.

School Leadership

 

 

Dr. Gabriel Cortez (A-F, N-Q)

(773) 442-5537

g-cortez@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Noreen Powers (G-I, R-U)

(773) 442-5395

n-powers@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Howard Bultinck (J-M, V-Z)

(773) 442-5809

h-bultinck@neiu.edu

Dr. Russell Wartalski

(773) 442-5504

r-wartalski@neiu.edu

 

Elementary Education, M.A.T.

 

 

Dr. Hector Morales (A-L, Program Facilitator)

(773) 442-5376

h-morales3@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Amina Chaudhri (M-Z)

(773) 442-5368

a-chaudhri@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Exercise Sports Science, M.S.

 

 

Dr. James Ball

(773) 442-5581

j-ball@neiu.edu

 

Dr. James Ball

(773) 442-5581

j-ball@neiu.edu

 

Human Resource Development, M.A.

 

 

Dr. Brian Vivona

(773) 442-5595

b-vivona@neiu.edu

Dr. Russell Wartalski

(773) 442-5504

r-wartalski@neiu.edu

 

Instruction in Language Arts, M.S.

Secondary Education Concentration

 

 

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Literacy Education, M.A.

 

 

Dr. April Nauman

(773) 442-5377

a-nauman@neiu.edu

Dr. Russell Wartalski

(773) 442-5504

r-wartalski@neiu.edu

 

Middle Level Education, M.A.T.

 

 

 Dr. Hector Morales

(773) 442-5376

h-morales3@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Public Health Graduate Certificate

 

Dr. Jennifer Banas (Coordinator)

(773) 442-5579

j-banas@neiu.edu

 

Robin Heggum, M.P.H.

(773) 442-5596

r-heggum@neiu.edu

Dr. James Ball

(773) 442-5581

jwball@neiu.edu

Public Health, M.P.H.

 

 

 Dr. Jennifer Banas (Coordinator)

(773) 442-5579

j-banas@neiu.edu

 

Robin Heggum, M.P.H.

(773) 442-5596

r-heggum@neiu.edu

Dr. James Ball

(773) 442-5581

jwball@neiu.edu

Rehabilitation Counseling, M.A.

 

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Craig Johnston (A-L)

(773) 442-5554

c-johnston@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Jia-Rung Wu (M-Z)

(773) 442-5551

j-wu11@neiu.edu 

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

 

School Counseling, M.A.

 

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Sharon Song (A-L)

sy-song@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Beth Gilfillan (M-Z)

e-gilfillan@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

 

 

 

Secondary Education, M.A.T. &   T.L.P

 

 

                                               

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

EICS Graduate Student Support Specialist 

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Katy Smith, Program Facilitator

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

 

 

Secondary Education, M.A.T. and T.L.P.

(English)

 

 

Dr. Tim Duggan

(773) 442-5354

t-duggan@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

 

 

Secondary Education, M.A.T. and T.L.P. 

(History)

 

 

Dr. Ru Dawley-Carr

(773) 442-5522

j-dawleycarr@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Secondary Education, M.A.T. and T.L.P. 

(Math)

 

Dr. Anastasia Brelias

(773) 442-4556

a-brelias@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Secondary Education, M.A.T. and T.L.P.

(Science)

 

Dr. Huseyin Colak

(773) 442-5363

h-colak@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Special Education, M.A.

LBS 1 (Licensure)

 

Dr. Jody Siker

(773) 442-5590

j-siker@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Special Education, M.S.

LBS 2

 

Dr. Jolanta Jonak

(773) 442-5992

j-jonak@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Teaching and Inquiry, M.S.

 

Dr. Steven Wolk

(773) 442-5397

s-wolk@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Urban Community Studies, M.A.

 

Dr. Lance Williams (A-F)

(773) 256-2145

l-williamsb@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Sunni Ali (G-L)

(773) 256-2139

a-sunni@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Zada Johnson (Program Facilitator, M-R)

(773) 268-7500

z-johnson@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Kimya Barden (S-Z)

(773) 442-6185

k-barden@neiu.edu

 

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

EICS Graduate Student Support Specialist 

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

The Goodwin College of Education 
Endorsements and Teacher Licensure Program (T.L.P.)

Graduate Program

Graduate Advisor

Department Chair

Bilingual Endorsement

 

                                                                        

Dr. Amina Chaudhri

(773) 442-5368

a-chaudhri@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Community and Teacher Leaders

 

 

 

Dr. Hua Bai

(Program Facilitator)

(773) 442-5248

h-bai@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Eleni Makris

(Program Facilitator)

(773) 442-5529

e-makris@neiu.edu

 

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

EICS Graduate Student Support Specialist 

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Elementary Education (Focus Program)

 

Dr. Hector Morales

(773) 442-5376

h-morales3@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Elementary Education (T.L.P.)

(1-6)

 

 

Sean Condon

(773) 442-5374

s-condon@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

K-12 Programs (T.L.P.)

Art, Music and Spanish

 

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

    Middle Level Education (Focus Program)

Dr. Hector Morales

(773) 442-5376

h-morales3@neiu.edu

Dr. Rachel Adeodu

(773) 442-5369

r-adeodu@neiu.edu

Physical Education (TLP & Focus Program) (K-12)

Marianne Morrissey, M.A.

(773) 442-4159

m-morrissey1@neiu.edu

Dr. James Ball

(773) 442-5581

jwball@neiu.edu

 

Reading Teacher Endorsement 

(Elementary Level & Secondary Level)

 

Dr. April Nauman

(773) 442-5377

a-nauman@neiu.edu

Dr. Russell Wartalski

(773) 442-5504

r-wartalski@neiu.edu

 

 School Counselor Endorsement

 

Dona Wisniewski (Pre-Program Advisor)

(773) 442-5557

d-wisniewski@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Sharon Song (A-L)

sy-song@neiu.edu 

 

Dr. Elizabeth Gilfillan (M-Z)

e-gilfillan@neiu.edu

Dr. Shedeh Tavakoli

(773) 442-5604

s-tavakoli@neiu.edu

 

Secondary Education (Focus Program)

English, History, Math and Science

(9-12)

 

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

 

 

Vanessa King, M.Ed., M.S.W.

EICS Graduate Student Support Specialist 

(773) 442-5387

v-king@neiu.edu

 

Dr. Katy Smith

(773) 442-5329

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Special Education, Learning Behavior Specialist

Focus Program (LBS 1)

 

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Special Education, Behavior Intervention Specialist

(LBS 2)

 

Dr. Jolanta Jonak

(773) 442-5992

j-jonak@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Special Education, Learning Behavior Specialist

(LBS 2)

 

Dr. Jolanta Jonak

(773) 442-5992

j-jonak@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Special Education, Curriculum Adaptation Specialist

(LBS 2)

Dr. Jolanta Jonak

(773) 442-5992

j-jonak@neiu.edu

Dr. Effie Kritikos

(773) 442-5585

e-kritikos@neiu.edu

Visual Arts (Focus Program)

(K-12)

 

Kimberly Ambriz, M.A.

(773) 442-4921

k-ambriz@neiu.edu

Kimberly Ambriz, M.A.

(773) 442-4921

k-ambriz@neiu.edu