The graduate curriculum at Northeastern is governed by the Northeastern faculty and the Provost, through various elected committees of the Faculty Senate. The Graduate College Advisory Committee (GCAC), a committee which reports to the Faculty Council on Academic Affairs (FCAA), reviews graduate-level curriculum proposals after the college curriculum committees have approved them. Once GCAC approves a proposal, they pass it along to FCAA for final faculty approval before the final approval of the provost. 

FCAA has developed guidelines and forms for the curriculum proposal process. The latest versions of these forms can be found on the FCAA website

Developing New Graduate Programs

To begin work developing a new program, departments should involve their college's dean and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research early on in the process. GCAC has developed a rubric they use to review new program proposals. Program proposal authors will find the rubric helpful with the successful development and implementation of a new graduate program. 

The GCAC membership for the 2020-2021 academic year: 

Constituency

Member

Term Ends

Email

Arts & Sciences

Jeanine Ntihirageza

8/31/2021

j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu

Arts & Sciences

Ryan Poll

8/31/2021

r-poll@neiu.edu

Business & Management

Deepa Pillai 

8/31/2021

d-pillai@neiu.edu

Business & Management

Charletta Gutierrez

8/31/2022

cf-gutierrez@neiu.edu

Education

Laura Tejada

8/31/2022

l-tejada@neiu.edu

Education

Katy Smith

8/31/2021

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Resource Professionals

Mary Thill

8/31/2022

m-thill@neiu.edu

At-Large

Jennifer Banas

8/31/2021

j-banas@neiu.edu 

At-Large

Ariana Bancu

8/31/2022

av-bancu@neiu.edu