The graduate curriculum at Northeastern is governed by the Northeastern faculty and the Provost, through various elected committees of the Faculty Senate. The Graduate College Advisory Committee (GCAC), a committee which reports to the Faculty Council on Academic Affairs (FCAA), reviews graduate-level curriculum proposals after the college curriculum committees have approved them. Once GCAC approves a proposal, they pass it along to FCAA for final faculty approval before the final approval of the provost. 

FCAA has developed guidelines and forms for the curriculum proposal process. The latest versions of these forms can be found on the FCAA website

Developing New Graduate Programs

To begin work developing a new program, departments should involve their college's dean and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research early on in the process. GCAC has developed a rubric they use to review new program proposals. Program proposal authors will find the rubric helpful with the successful development and implementation of a new graduate program. 

The GCAC membership for the 2021-2022 academic year: 

Constituency

Member

Term Ends

Email

Arts & Sciences

Joel Olfelt

Aug. 31, 2023

j-olfelt@neiu.edu

Arts and Sciences

Brandon Bisbey

Aug. 31, 2023

b-bisbey@neiu.edu

Business and Management

Open 

Aug. 31, 2023

 

Business and Management

Charletta Gutierrez

Aug. 31, 2022

cf-gutierrez@neiu.edu

Education

Laura Tejada

Aug. 31, 2022

l-tejada@neiu.edu

Education

Katy Smith

Aug. 31, 2023

k-smith1@neiu.edu

Resource Professionals

Mary Thill

Aug. 31, 2022

m-thill@neiu.edu

At-Large

Selina Mushi

Aug. 31, 2023

s-mushi@neiu.edu

At-Large

Ariana Bancu

Aug. 31, 2022

av-bancu@neiu.edu