The graduate curriculum at Northeastern is governed by the Northeastern faculty and the Provost, through various elected committees of the Faculty Senate. The Graduate College Advisory Committee (GCAC), a committee which reports to the Faculty Council on Academic Affairs (FCAA), reviews graduate-level curriculum proposals after the college curriculum committees have approved them. Once GCAC approves a proposal, they pass it along to FCAA for final faculty approval before the final approval of the Provost. 

FCAA has developed guidelines and forms for the curriculum proposal process. The latest versions of these forms can be found on the FCAA website

Developing New Graduate Programs

To begin work developing a new program, departments should involve their college's Dean and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research early on in the process. GCAC has developed a rubric they use to review new program proposals. Program proposal authors will find the rubric helpful with the successful development and implementation of a new graduate program. 

The GCAC membership for the 2019-2020 academic year: 

Constituency Member Term Ends Email
Arts & Sciences Jeanine Ntihirageza 8/31/2021 j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu
Arts & Sciences Ryan Poll 8/31/2021 r-poll@neiu.edu
Business & Management Deepa Pillai  8/31/2021 d-pillai@neiu.edu
Business & Management Suresh Singh 8/31/2020 s-singh1@neiu.edu
Education Lynn Bush  8/31/2020 l-bush2@neiu.edu 
Education Katy Smith 8/31/2021 k-smith1@neiu.edu
Resource Professionals Michelle Oh 8/31/2020 m-oh@neiu.edu
At-Large Jennifer Banas 8/31/2021 j-banas@neiu.edu 
At-Large Cindy Voisine 8/31/2020 c-voisine@neiu.edu