Sixteen people pose as a group on a stage at Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Fourteen members of the Northeastern Illinois University community and two organizations were honored during the 16th Annual Black Heritage Awards ceremony on Feb. 23 at the Jacob H. Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies.

The Black Heritage Awards Ceremony program was developed and planned by members of the Black Heritage Committee that included staff, faculty and students. The Sankofa statues/awards that were presented to the recipients were crafted by Assistant Professor of Art Katie Duffy and her student, James Welch, at the request of the committee. The event was co-hosted by the Angelina Pedroso Center for Diversity and Intercultural Affairs and the Black Heritage Committee. (View photos from the event.) This year’s honorees were:

Administrative Excellence
Sylvia Daniels

Alumni Excellence
Ella Whitehead

Community Service
Donne E. Trotter

Entertainer of Excellence
Damon Williams

Excellence in Media
Dometi Pongo

Faculty Excellence
Sharon Bethea

First-Year Student
Isaih Brown and James Searcy

GEAR UP Parent Award of Excellence
Patricia Butler

GEAR UP Student Award of Excellence
Rufus Burks and Sierra Johnson

Outstanding Student Organization
Black Caucus
Sigma Gamma Rho National Sorority Incorporated

Staff Excellence
Victoria Jones

Student Leadership
Zanetta Kubajak
Marina Whitehead

View past winners from 2015, 2016 and 2017.