Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Several members the Northeastern Illinois University community will be honored during the 13th Annual Black Heritage Awards Ceremony on Feb. 20.

“We hear so much about the work to be done in order to promote African-American success, and we are doing that work,” African and African American Resource Center Director Kim Everett said. “On this night, we pause to celebrate the many people doing great things for and with African-Americans at Northeastern.”

The Heritage Awards Ceremony, hosted by the African and African American Resource Center and the Black Heritage Committee, will take place at 5 p.m. in Alumni Hall, 3701 West Bryn Mawr Ave. in Chicago. Reservations are required for the free event.

Here is the list of honorees:

Dr. Sheena L. Warren Staff Award of Excellence—Teela Williams

Alumni Award of Excellence—Brett Coleman

Community Award of Excellence—Rev. Harold E. Bailey

Faculty Award of Excellence—Jacqueline Anderson

Student Award of Excellence—Shatara Mitchell and Chaelecia Cooper

Administrator Award of Excellence—Terry Black

Dr. Melvin Cleveland Terrell Award in Research and Lifetime Achievement—Sharon Bethea