Aerial view of Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies

Monday, February 27, 2017

Twelve members of the Northeastern Illinois University community were honored during the 14th Annual Black Heritage Awards ceremony on Feb. 24 at the Jacob H. Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies.

The Heritage Awards Ceremony was hosted by the African and African American Resource Center and the Black Heritage Committee. This year’s honorees were:

Dr. Sheena L. Warren Staff Award of Excellence
Judy Davis-Taylor

Administrator Award of Excellence
Meagan Mitchell

Community Service Award of Excellence
Diamond Barnes

Alumni Award
Lynda Gibson

Faculty Excellence Award
Josef Ben Levi

Dr. Melvin C. Terrell Faculty Award in Research and Literature
Nicole Holland

Murrell Jean Higgins Duster Legacy Award
Wamucii Njogu

First Year Student Award of Excellence
Shalon D. Ramsey

Student Leadership Award of Excellence
Diamond Whaley

Outstanding Student Organization Award
Eagles Dance Crew

Sankofa Award
Rosetta Cash and Sarator Whitehead