A crowd of students moving through Village Square on the Main Campus

Monday, July 29, 2019

Northeastern Illinois University has awarded its prestigious Presidential Scholarship to three Chicago-area high school students.

Valued at more than $60,000 during the course of four academic years, the Presidential Scholarship covers full in-state tuition and fees, and provides a book allowance.

“I am excited to welcome these three scholars into the Northeastern family,” President Gloria J. Gibson said. “Their dedication to learning has taken them this far, and I look forward to watching their journey through graduation and beyond.”

This year’s awardees are:

  • Kevin Baez (World Language High School)
  • Jonathan Tise (Hoffman Estates High School)
  • Sarah Weiner (Hanna Sacks Bais Yaakov High School)

Established in 2000, the first Presidential Scholarship was awarded to a recipient who, after graduating from Northeastern, completed law school and is a writer, strategist and nonprofit leader in Chicago.

The Presidential Scholarship Program attracts graduating high school seniors from the Chicago metropolitan and suburban areas who demonstrate strong academic promise.

Presidential Scholars receive automatic admission into the University Honors Program, take advantage of study abroad opportunities, and are involved in a variety of student organizations on campus, which enhance their leadership skills and commitment to service learning.