Asian American Heritage Awards

Monday, March 28, 2016

Eight members of the Northeastern Illinois University community will be recognized for their work at the Sixth Annual Asian, Asian American Heritage Awards of Excellence on April 8.

This year’s event, “Sharing Traditions, Celebrating Excellence,” will take place at 5:30 p.m. in Alumni Hall. Anyone interested in attending may RSVP to the Asian American Heritage Committee.

“It is important we take the time to celebrate the achievements of members of our University community who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and mentoring students, have made significant contributions in advancing knowledge in their area of expertise through research, and have demonstrated outstanding academic achievements, exemplary community service and leadership,” said Yasmin Ranney, Director of the Asian/Global Resource Center and chair of the Asian American Heritage Committee.

This year’s recipients of the Asian, Asian-American Awards of Excellence are:

Administrator Award of Excellence

Fe Lenon, Director, Office of the Controller

Alumni Award of Excellence

Yiming Zhang (M.A. ’00 Music)

Community Service Award of Excellence

Reza Toulabi

Harrison Y. Oh

Faculty Award of Excellence

Hossein Birjandi, Management and Marketing Instructor

International Student Award of Excellence

Xiaoxuan Wu, Accounting and Music

Staff Award of Excellence

Rae Joyce Baguilat, Office of Student Leadership Development

Student Award of Excellence

Mani Valathur, Geography and Environmental Studies graduate program