Elevated view of the Student Union and B buildings

Friday, October 28, 2016

Northeastern Illinois University has selected Chemistry Professor Ana Fraiman as the 2016 recipient of the Audrey Reynolds Distinguished Teaching Award.

Professor Emerita of Linguistics Audrey Reynolds established the award to be given annually to a tenured member of the Northeastern faculty who best demonstrates distinguished teaching.

“It is a pleasure to see Dr. Fraiman honored for her relentless dedication to our students,” Acting Provost Vicki Román-Lagunas said. “She serves as a wonderful example of the commitment to our student body that our faculty members demonstrate every day.”

Of this year’s nominees, the Reynolds Award Committee selected three finalists after careful consideration of nomination letters submitted by colleagues and other members of the University community. The finalists were Fraiman, Associate Professor of Philosophy Daniel Milsky and Professor of Special Education Gerardo Moreno.

The finalists demonstrated evidence of excellence in teaching, and in each of the dossiers the committee found evidence of innovation, high standards and a positive impact on students at the University. After careful review, the committee recommended Fraiman as this year’s recipient of the award, which will be formally presented at the December 2016 Commencement Ceremony.

As the Audrey Reynolds Distinguished Teaching Award recipient, Fraiman will receive $5,000 and will give a presentation regarding teaching during the Spring 2017 semester.

Ana Fraiman