Dale Carter receives the Black Heritage Committee Scholarship

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Eleven members of the Northeastern Illinois University community were honored during the 14th Annual Black Heritage Awards ceremony on Feb. 19 at the Jacob H. Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies.

The Heritage Awards Ceremony was hosted by the African and African American Resource Center and the Black Heritage Committee. This year’s honorees were:

Dean Murrell Jean Higgins Duster Legacy Award
Conrad Worrill

First Year Student Award
Alexis Chappel

Student Leadership Award
Patricia Behn-Wright

Outstanding Student Organization Award
Black Student Forum

Black Heritage Committee Scholarship
Dale Carter

Alumni Award
Karen Lewis

Community Service Award
Trice Turner

Dr. Sheena L. Warren Staff Award
Troy Davenport

Administrative Award
Erica Brown-Pierce

Faculty Award
Zada Johnson

Dr. Melvin C. Terrell Faculty Award
Selina Mushi

Top photo: Director of Scholarships Michelle Morrow (right) presents Dale Carter with the Black Heritage Committee Scholarship.