Nine Sankofa statuettes stand in a row on a table

Friday, March 4, 2022

Eleven members of the Northeastern Illinois University community were honored during the 20th Annual Black Heritage Awards ceremony on Feb. 25 in Alumni Hall on the Main Campus. 

The Black Heritage Awards ceremony program was developed and planned by members of the Black Heritage Committee that included staff, faculty and students. Each recipient received a hand-carved Sankofa statue that was as unique as their award. 

This year’s honorees were:

Javonti Mordican, undergraduate, Communication, Media and Theatre
Student Leadership Award

Shyrice Howell, undergraduate, Accounting
Student Leadership Award

Anokyewaa Oppong, undergraduate, Music
The Dr. Wamucii Njogu Outstanding Student Award

Isaiah Thomas, undergraduate, Biology
The Dr. Wamucii Njogu Outstanding Student Award

Pi Nu Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Outstanding Student Organization Award

Melanie Baker, Librarian, CCICS
The Dr. Sheena L. Warren Staff Award of Excellence

Monica Smith, Office Administrator, CCICS
The Dr. Sheena L. Warren Staff Award of Excellence

Akua Cason, Assistant Director, CCICS
Administrator Award of Excellence

Dr. Aissetu Ibrahima, Assistant Professor, Social Work
Faculty Award of Excellence

Dr. Kimya Barden, Associate Professor, Educational Inquiry and Curriculum Studies
The Dr. Melvin Cleveland Terrell Award in Research and Literature

Dr. Jeanine Ntihirageza, Professor, TESOL
The Dean Murrell Higgins Duster Legacy Award

The Black Heritage Awards and the Black History/Heritage Month events are sponsored by the Office of the President, Office of Academic Affairs, Office of Student Affairs, Division of Institutional Advancement, Black History/Heritage Month Committee, African and African American Studies program, Angelina Pedroso Center for Diversity and Intercultural Affairs, Jacob H. Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies, El Centro, College of Arts and Sciences, and Daniel L. Goodwin College of Education.