Three CPDU credits per online seminar.
Northeastern Illinois University offers a series of exciting interdisciplinary seminars to feed the intellectual hunger of community college and high school teachers of all disciplines. Those seeking professional development and a nourishing space to explore the challenges our evolving and volatile world can join Northeastern faculty members in these seminars designed to spur intellectual growth. These seminars offer inspiriting ways to reinvigorate classrooms to increase relevance in our contemporary world.

Seminars now take place online.

Pricing: 1-4 participants $110 each; 5-9 participants $100 each; 10-19 participants $90 each; 20 or more participants $75 each.

Price tiers are applied according to the total number of seats/registrations in a single purchase.

Questions: Contact Hilary Jirka at h-jirka2@neiu.edu.

Register Online

2020-2021 Schedule

Full descriptions
 

Rescheduled for Oct. 30. Seats available!
Friday, Sept. 25, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon 
Allowing Race in the Classroom (500)
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu

Friday, Oct. 2, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: New Perspectives on Old Debates (501)

Michael Tuck, History Department

m-tuck@neiu.edu

Now Closed
Friday, Oct. 9, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon

Woodshop Safety and Scrap Wood Sculpture Workshop (502)
Shencheng Xu, Art Department

s-xu@neiu.edu
Note: This seminar takes place in the Sculpture Studio, FA 215 and FA 219

Friday, Oct. 16, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon 
Teaching Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night (503)
Bradley Greenburg, English Department

b-greenburg@neiu.edu

Now Closed
Friday, Oct. 23, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon

“Oh No, You Didn’t:” Teaching Conflict Resolution and Cooperative Strategies (504)
Lisa Hollis-Sawyer and Amanda Dykema-Engblade, Psychology Department

l-hollissawyer@neiu.edu 
and a-dykema-engblade@neiu.edu

Friday, Oct. 30, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
The Elastic President: Presidential Power Under and Above the Constitution (505)
William Adler, Political Science Department

w-adler@neiu.edu

Friday, Oct. 30, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon 
Allowing Race in the Classroom (500)
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu

Friday, Nov. 6, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
Gender in the Classroom: Affirming and Inclusive Teaching Practices (506)
Brooke Johnson, Sociology Department and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies

b-johnson16@neiu.edu

Friday, Nov. 13, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
Understanding Linguistic Discrimination in the Classroom (507)
Ariana Bancu, Linguistics Department
Rachel Weissler, Linguistics, University of Michigan

av-bancu@neiu.edu

Friday, Nov. 20, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
Stereotypes in the Classroom (508)
Stacey Goguen, Philosophy Department

s-goguen@neiu.edu

Friday, Dec. 4, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
Challenging Racism Within and Beyond the High School Classroom (509)
Olivia Perlow, Sociology Department 

o-perlow@neiu.edu

Friday, Dec. 11, 2020, 9 a.m.-noon
Is it time to talk about Marxism yet? How a basic understanding of what Marx actually thought about can help us teach social and literary analysis (510)
Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu

Friday, Jan. 8, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Coloniality in the Classroom: Using Decolonial Perspectives to Enrich Engagement with US Latina/o/x and Latin American History and Culture (511)
Brandon Bisbey, Latina/o and Latin American Studies Program

b-bisbey@neiu.edu

Friday, Jan. 15, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Democracy in the Age of Popular Discontent (512)
Martyn de Bruyn, Political Science Department

m-debruyn@neiu.edu

Friday, Jan. 22, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Teaching Theories of Non-Violence in the High School Classroom (513)
Ryan Poll, English Department

r-poll@neiu.edu

Friday, Jan. 29, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Becoming an AntiRacist Educator: Understanding the Social Construction of Difference and Access in Public Education (514)
Durene Wheeler, Angelina Pedroso Center for Diversity and Intercultural Affairs
d-wheeler@neiu.edu

Friday, Feb. 5, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Problem-Solving “Spanglish” in the Classroom (515)
Denise Cloonan Cortez de Andersen, Department of World Languages and Cultures

d-cloonan@neiu.edu

Friday, Feb. 19, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Beauty is a Verb: Teaching Disability Studies in the High School Classroom (516)
Ryan Poll, English Department

r-poll@neiu.edu

Friday, Feb. 26, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
We the People Remixed: Teaching the U.S. Constitution with poems, manifestos, and music (517)
Sophia Mihic, Political Science and Philosophy

s-mihic@neiu.edu

Friday, March 5, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
From Drama to Melodrama: Latin American and US Latinx Television in the Classroom (518)

Dr. Catalina Rincon-Bisbey, World Languages/Cultures

cata717@gmail.com

Friday, March 12, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon 
Work, Money, and Shopping: Teaching the Global History of Capitalism (519)

Charles Steinwedel, History Department Chair
c-steinwedel@neiu.edu

Friday, March 26, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Teaching Food History (520)
Christina Bueno, History Department
c-bueno@neiu.edu

Friday, April 2, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Canonizing Cruelty: How the American Literary Tradition Helps Make Cruelty a Cultural “Classic” (521)
Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu

Friday, April 9, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
Teaching Immigrants in the Classroom (522)
Viktoria Nagy, School for the Advancement of English Language and Learning (SAELL)
v-nagy@neiu.edu

Friday, April 16, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
What’s With the X? (523)

Dr. Catalina Rincon-Bisbey, World Languages/Cultures

cata717@gmail.com

Friday, April 23, 2021, 9 a.m.-noon
The Search for the “Good” Story: Making “Other” Lives Matter (524)

Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu