Three CPDU credits per online seminar.
Northeastern Illinois University offers a series of exciting interdisciplinary seminars to feed the intellectual hunger of community college and high school teachers of all disciplines. Those seeking professional development and a nourishing space to explore the challenges our evolving and volatile world can join Northeastern faculty members in these seminars designed to spur intellectual growth. These seminars offer inspiriting ways to reinvigorate classrooms to increase relevance in our contemporary world.

Seminars now take place online.

Pricing: 1-4 participants $110 each; 5-9 participants $100 each; 10-19 participants $90 each; 20 or more participants $75 each.

Price tiers are applied according to the total number of seats/registrations in a single purchase.

Questions: Contact Hilary Jirka at h-jirka2@neiu.edu.

Register Online

2020-2021 Schedule

Full descriptions
 

Allowing Race in the Classroom (500)

Rescheduled for Oct. 30. Seats available!
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: New Perspectives on Old Debates (501)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Oct. 2, 2020
Michael Tuck, History Department

m-tuck@neiu.edu

Woodshop Safety and Scrap Wood Sculpture Workshop (502)

Now Closed
Shencheng Xu, Art Department

s-xu@neiu.edu
Note: This seminar takes place in the Sculpture Studio, FA 215 and FA 219

Teaching Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night (503)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Oct. 16, 2020
Bradley Greenburg, English Department

b-greenburg@neiu.edu

“Oh No, You Didn’t:” Teaching Conflict Resolution and Cooperative Strategies (504)

Now Closed
Lisa Hollis-Sawyer and Amanda Dykema-Engblade, Psychology Department

l-hollissawyer@neiu.edu 
and a-dykema-engblade@neiu.edu

The Elastic President: Presidential Power Under and Above the Constitution (505)

Now Closed
William Adler, Political Science Department

w-adler@neiu.edu

Allowing Race in the Classroom (500)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Oct. 30, 2020
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu

Gender in the Classroom: Affirming and Inclusive Teaching Practices (506)

Now Closed
Brooke Johnson, Sociology Department and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies
b-johnson16@neiu.edu

Understanding Linguistic Discrimination in the Classroom (507)

Now Closed
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Nov. 13, 2020
Ariana Bancu, Linguistics Department
Rachel Weissler, Linguistics, University of Michigan

av-bancu@neiu.edu

Stereotypes in the Classroom (508)

Now Closed
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Nov. 20, 2020

Stacey Goguen, Philosophy Department

s-goguen@neiu.edu

Challenging Racism Within and Beyond the High School Classroom (509)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Dec. 4, 2020
Olivia Perlow, Sociology Department 

o-perlow@neiu.edu

Is it time to talk about Marxism yet? How a basic understanding of what Marx actually thought about can help us teach social and literary analysis (510)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Dec. 11, 2020
Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu

Coloniality in the Classroom: Using Decolonial Perspectives to Enrich Engagement with US Latina/o/x and Latin American History and Culture (511)

Now Closed
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Jan. 8, 2021

Brandon Bisbey, Latina/o and Latin American Studies Program

b-bisbey@neiu.edu

Democracy in the Age of Popular Discontent (512)

Now Closed
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Jan. 15, 2021

Martyn de Bruyn, Political Science Department

m-debruyn@neiu.edu

Teaching Theories of Non-Violence in the High School Classroom (513)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Jan. 22, 2021
Ryan Poll, English Department

r-poll@neiu.edu

Becoming an AntiRacist Educator: Understanding the Social Construction of Difference and Access in Public Education (514)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Jan. 29, 2021
Durene Wheeler, Angelina Pedroso Center for Diversity and Intercultural Affairs
d-wheeler@neiu.edu

Problem-Solving “Spanglish” in the Classroom (515)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-noon Friday, Feb. 5, 2021

Denise Cloonan Cortez de Andersen, Department of World Languages and Cultures

d-cloonan@neiu.edu

Beauty is a Verb: Teaching Disability Studies in the High School Classroom (516)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Feb. 19, 2021
Ryan Poll, English Department

r-poll@neiu.edu

We the People Remixed: Teaching the U.S. Constitution with poems, manifestos, and music (517)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, Feb. 26, 2021
Sophia Mihic, Political Science and Philosophy

s-mihic@neiu.edu

From Drama to Melodrama: Latin American and US Latinx Television in the Classroom (518)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, March 5, 2021
Dr. Catalina Rincon-Bisbey, World Languages/Cultures

cata717@gmail.com

Work, Money, and Shopping: Teaching the Global History of Capitalism (519)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, March 12, 2021
Charles Steinwedel, History Department Chair
c-steinwedel@neiu.edu

Teaching Food History (520)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-
12 p.m. Friday, March 26, 2021
Christina Bueno, History Department
c-bueno@neiu.edu

Canonizing Cruelty: How the American Literary Tradition Helps Make Cruelty a Cultural “Classic” (521)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, April 2, 2021
Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu

Teaching Immigrants in the Classroom (522)

Now Closed.
9 a.m.-
12 p.m. Friday, April 9, 2021
Viktoria Nagy, School for the Advancement of English Language and Learning (SAELL)
v-nagy@neiu.edu

What’s With the X? (523)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, April 16, 2021
Dr. Catalina Rincon-Bisbey, World Languages and Cultures

cata717@gmail.com

The Search for the “Good” Story: Making “Other” Lives Matter (524)

9 a.m.-12 p.m. Friday, April 23, 2021
Tim Libretti, English Department

t-libretti@neiu.edu