Three CPDU credits per online seminar.
Northeastern Illinois University offers a series of exciting interdisciplinary seminars to feed the intellectual hunger of community college and high school teachers of all disciplines. Those seeking professional development and a nourishing space to explore the challenges our evolving and volatile world can join Northeastern faculty members in these seminars designed to spur intellectual growth. These seminars offer inspiriting ways to reinvigorate classrooms to increase relevance in our contemporary world.

For the 2021-22 year, we’ve brought back some of our seminars by popular demand and added or revised some others, but all of them will provide the same rigorous, student-centered thinking and discussion you’ve come to expect from our series.  

Have a larger group interested in a seminar delivered at your institution?  Please contact the Coordinator of the CAS PDS series, Timothy Scherman at t-scherman@neiu.edu, or our administrator, Hilary Jirka at h-jirka@neiu.edu, to work out the details.

Seminars will be in person with safety protocols in place.

Pricing: 1-4 participants $110 each; 5-9 participants $100 each; 10-19 participants $90 each; 20 or more participants $75 each.

Price tiers are applied according to the total number of seats/registrations in a single purchase.

Questions: Contact Hilary Jirka at h-jirka2@neiu.edu.

Register Online

2021-2022 Schedule

Full descriptions
 

Allowing Race in the Classroom (500)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, September 24, 2021
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu

Continue the conversation with the November 19 seminar, “Allowing Race Beyond the Classroom”

They Can’t/Won’t/Don’t Read: Engaging All Students in Literary Text (501)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, October 1, 2021
April Nauman, Department of Literacy Education
a-nauman@neiu.edu

Woodshop Safety and Scrap Wood Sculpture Workshop (502)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, October 8, 2021
Shencheng Xu, Art Department

s-xu@neiu.edu

1st hour – Introduction, safety rules, and power tool demonstration.
2nd hour – Scrap wood sculpture design, fabrication processes and techniques.
3rd hour – Finishing the scrap wood sculpture and critique at the end of the workshop.
 

Beauty is a Verb: Teaching Disability Studies in the High School Classroom (503)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, October 15, 2021
Ryan Poll, English Department
r-poll@neiu.edu

“Oh No, You Didn’t:” Teaching Conflict Resolution and Cooperative Strategies (504)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, October 22, 2021
Lisa Hollis-Sawyer and Amanda Dykema-Engblade, Psychology Department
l-hollissawyer@neiu.edu,
a-dykema-engblade@neiu.edu

Teaching Ethics (505)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, November 5, 2021
Daniel Milsky, Philosophy Department
d-milsky@neiu.edu

Hour 1---Lessons from the high school and college classroom
Hour 2---A few moral theories. We will discuss ways to teach Utilitarianism, Kantian Deontology, Aristotelian Virtue Ethics, and Feminist Ethics.
Hour 3---Application of these theories to the ethics of our treatment of food animals and the ethics of producing designer babies.
 

The Elastic President: Presidential Power Under and Above the Constitution (506)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, November 12, 2021
William Adler, Political Science Department
w-adler@neiu.edu

Allowing Race Beyond the Classroom (507)
2nd of 2 Seminars

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, November 19, 2021
Kristen Over, English Department
k-over@neiu.edu
A continuation of Kristen Over's "Race in the Classroom" seminar
 

Teaching COVID (508) 

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, December 3, 2021
Tim Libretti, English Department
t-libretti@neiu.edu

Stereotypes in the Classroom (509)  

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, January 7, 2022
Stacey Goguen, Psychology Department
s-goguen@neiu.edu
 

International Order and the Triangular Relationship: the United States, Russian Federation, and the People's Republic of China (510)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, January 14, 2022
Aleksandar Jankovski, Political Science Department
a-jankovski@neiu.edu

Using Ekphrasis (Writing that responds to Art) in the Writing Classroom, Creative and Otherwise (511)  

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, January 28, 2022
Olivia Cronk, English Department
o-cronk@neiu.edu

Problem-Solving “Spanglish” in the Classroom (512)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, February 4, 2022
Denise Cloonan Cortez de Andersen, Department of World Languages and Cultures
d-cloonan@neiu.edu
 

Teaching Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night (513)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, February 18, 2022
Bradley Greenburg, English Department
b-greenburg@neiu.edu

 

An Introduction to Anti-Oppressive Education (514)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  Friday, February 25, 2022 Olivia Perlow -  Chair of Sociology, African and African American Studies, Latinx and Latin American Studies, and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Durene Wheeler - Director of the Angelina Pedroso Center for Diversity and Intercultural Affairs
o-perlow@neiu.edu
d-wheeler@neiu.edu
 

Why Brexit and why it matters to Americans?  (515)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  March 4, 2022
Martyn de Bruyn, Political Science Department
m-debruyn@neiu.edu
 

Work, Money, and Shopping: Teaching the Global History of Capitalism (516)

9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  March 11, 2022
Charles Steinwedel, History Department Chair
c-steinwedel@neiu.edu