Northeastern Illinois University has convened a task force to address the ongoing spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in Chicago, nationally and internationally. This task force is charged with addressing the safety and security of our University community and has this website to communicate updates as they occur.

The task force will keep University leadership apprised of concerns and illness prevention efforts, and will provide recommendations on major decisions.

The current members of the task force are:

  • Academic Affairs: Francisco Gaytán, Kate Hahn and Marshall Thompson
  • Campus Recreation: Dave Merrill
  • Carruthers Center: Akua Cason
  • Center for College Access and Success: Wendy Stack
  • Communications: Mike Hines
  • Dean of Students: Matt Specht
  • El Centro: Maria Luna-Duarte and Rebeca Lamadrid-Quevedo
  • Enrollment Services: Dan Weber
  • Facilities Management: Rick Matus
  • Finance and Administration: Amy Rempas
  • Health Services: Sharon Heimbaugh and David Worrell
  • Human Resources: Marta Maso
  • Legal Affairs: Melissa Reardon Henry
  • Library: Lisa Wallis
  • The Nest: JD Chancellor
  • Police: John Escalante
  • President’s Office: Mike Dizon
  • Student Union, Event and Conference Services: Kyle Burke and Ernie Kimlin
  • University Technology Services: Jim Thompson