NEIU Parking Office
NEIU Parking Facility

CITATIONS/PARKING FINES

Parking Citation Basic Information

Fines are issued for failure to comply with parking regulations as set forth by the State of Illinois, City of Chicago and Northeastern Illinois University. Outstanding violations can be viewed online here.

Graduation or separation from the University does not cancel parking fine obligations. The registered vehicles owner and authorized drivers are responsible for all permits, fines and fees. Any vehicle found on campus after loss of parking privileges shall be fined and towed at owner's expense.

Citation and Fine Schedule

Illegal removal of a university boot $500
Parking in handicap zone $250
Illegal use of permit $100
No valid permit $ 50
False ticket display $ 50
Failure/improper permit display $ 25
Level 2 permit in Level 1 $ 25
Level 3 permit in Level 1 or Level 2 $ 25
Mutilated permit $ 25
Parking in loading dock or service area $ 25
Parked blocking access to fire hydrant $ 25
Parking in an aisle or on an island $ 25
Parking in violation of signs $ 25
Parking at expired meter $ 25
Parking on grass or side walk $ 25
Blocking crosswalk $ 25
Parking on/over stall markings $ 25
Failure to register with University Police for overnight parking $ 25

Payments

Payments for ticket fines may be made with cash, check or credit card, with the exception of fines for booted vehicles and permanent holds that require immediate release. Fines for booted vehicles and immediate permanent hold releases must be paid in cash, money order or cashier's check only.

All checks should be made payable to the NEIU Parking Office.

Direct Payment of fines and fees can be made at the NEIU Parking Office located at the North facing wall on the Eastside of the Parking Facility, 1st floor.

Payments by Mail should be addressed to the NEIU Parking Office, 5500 North St. Louis Avenue, Chicago IL 60625. You should allow sufficient time for postal delivery when making payments by mail. Do not send cash payments in the mail. Only check, money order or certified cashier's check should be sent when paying by mail.

Fines not paid within 14 days from date of issuance will be assessed an additional late fee of $15. Continued failure to pay fines may result in collection enforcement processing such as holds, collection agency transfers, State and employee offset, immobilizing vehicle "boot" and towing.

Payment Plans

Payment plans are established for owners/drivers with outstanding balances of more than $100 with vehicles that are not currently booted. Once a vehicle has been immobilized, "booted", full payment of all outstanding parking debts is required in the payment form of cash, money order, credit card (Visa/MasterCard/Discover) or cashier check only.

1/3 of the complete balance is due to start payment plan. Minimum installment payment cannot be less than $15.00. Maximum time limit for payment plan, not to exceed 3 months. Payments due no later than 3 business days after the due date. Student's account will remain on hold until account is paid in full.

Payment plans are limited to a time frame of 3 months on all balances. Outstanding balances of $100 or less do not qualify for a payment plan. If the scheduled payments are not paid on time and the account is more than thirty days past due, the payment plan is subject to being cancelled by the Parking Office.

The establishment of a payment plan only allows a temporary parking hold release for registration. Diplomas and transcripts will not be released until the owner's/driver's total outstanding parking debt has been paid in full.

Click Here for Information about Collection Enforcement