Northeastern Illinois University

Linguistics Department

 

Main Linguistics Office
3050 Lech Walesa Hall
3601 Bryn Mawr Ave
Chicago, Illinois 60625
Phone: 773-442-5871

 

Linguistics Department Faculty

Judith Kaplan-Weinger
Professor,Graduate Advisor
Ph.D. Georgetown University
Areas of expertise and interest: Sociolinguistics, Discourse Analysis, Identity Studies, Theories, Techniques & Assessment of TESL, Language and Tourism.
CV
Office: LWH-3070, Phone: 773-442-5877, email address: J-Kaplan1@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Kaplan-Weinger for current office hours.

Richard W. Hallett
Professor, Coordinator, Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D. University of South Carolina
Areas of expertise and interest: Second Language Acquisition, English as a Second Language, Sociolinguistics, World Englishes, Phonology, Language and Tourism.
CV
Office: LWH-3069, Phone: 773-442-5879, email address: R-Hallett@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Hallett for current office hours.

Shahrzad Mahootian
Professor, Graduate Advisor
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Areas of expertise and interest: Multilingualism, Codeswitching and code-mixing, Language and Identity, First Language Acquisition, Psycholinguistics, Syntax, Syntax-pragmatics interface, ESL/EFL curriculum.
CV, Available Publications
http://www.linguistics-compass.com/
Office: LWH-3068, Phone: 773-442-5875, email address: S-Mahootian@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Mahootian for current office hours.

Adjunct Faculty

Karen Duchaj, Ph.D., Linguistics, Northwestern University
Office: LWH-4090, Phone: 773-442-5874, email address: K-Duchaj@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Duchaj for current office hours.

Lewis Gebhardt, Ph.D., Linguistics, Northwestern University
Office: LWH-4090, Phone: 773-442-5874, email address: L-Gebhardt@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Gebhardt for current office hours.

Jill Hallett, Ph.D., Linguistics, University of Illinois
Office: LWH-3069, Phone: 773-442-5879, email address: J-Ward1@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Hallett for current office hours.

Ken Konopka, Ph.D., Linguistics, Northwestern University
Office: LWH-4090, Phone: 773-442-5874, email address: K-Konopka@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Konopka for current office hours.

Nancy Sreenan, M.A., Linguistics, Northeastern Illinois University
Office: LWH-4090,Phone: 773-442-5874, email address: N-Sreenan@neiu.edu
Please email Ms.Sreenan for current office hours.

Inge Stockburger, Ph.D., Linguistics, Georgetown University
Office: LWH-4090, Phone: 773-442-5874,email address: I-Stockburger@neiu.edu
Please email Dr.Stockburger for current office hours.