History Faculty
History Home
bowl
platter
p1
lpbtb
lpt
ab
moroccon bowl
moroccon bowl
plate
yellow platter
plate
turkish
Turkish
Turkish
Moroccon
Tunisian Bowl
Turkish Bowl
TENURED AND TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

Name Fields Office
Email Telephone
Christina Bueno
Ph.D. University of California, Davis

Associate Professor
Latin America, Social and Cultural, Mexico


4087

C-Bueno@neiu.edu 442-5608
Andrew Eisenberg
Ph.D. University of Washington
Professor
Classical and Medieval China, East Asian History
4082 A-Eisenberg@neiu.edu 442-5627
Mateo M. Farzaneh
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor
Islamic World, Modern Middle East History
4088 M-Farzaneh@neiu.edu 442-5821
Patrick Miller
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Professor 
African American History and Race Relations, Cultural History
4080 P-Miller1@neiu.edu 442-5631
Francesca Morgan
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor
U.S. History; Women's History
4095 F-Morgan@neiu.edu 442-5609
Joshua Salzmann
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
Assistant Professor
U.S. History; Chicago, Urban, and Environmental History
4094 J-Salzmann@neiu.edu 442-5632
Zachary Schiffman
Ph. D. University of Chicago
Professor
Renaissance and Reformation, Ancient Greece and Rome
4072 Z-Schiffman@neiu.edu 442-5623
Charles Steinwedel
Ph.D., Columbia University
Associate Professor 
Russia, Soviet Union, Modern Europe
4093  C-Steinwedel@neiu.edu 442-5624
Michael W. Tuck
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Associate Professor and Chair of the Department
African, Medicine, Slavery, and Atlantic World
4085 M-Tuck@neiu.edu 442-5606

INSTRUCTORS

Name Fields Office
Email Telephone
Leo J. Bacino
Ph.D. Northern Illinois University
Instructor
U. S. History, Foreign Relations
4089 L-Bacino@neiu.edu 442-5629
George Gerdow
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Instructor
Latin America
4092 G-Gerdow@neiu.edu 442-5628
Richard Grossman
Ph.D. University of Chicago
Instructor
Latin America
4089 R-Grossman@neiu.edu 442-5629
Nikolas O. Hoel
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
Instructor
Medieval History, Byzantine History
4081  N-Hoel@neiu.edu 442-5634
Thomas Hoff
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Instructor
U.S.History, Military History
4091  hoff5637@comcast.net 442-5630
Joan Johnson
Ph.D. UCLA
Instructor U.S. History; Women's History; African American History 4092 joanmjohnson@comcast.net 442-5628

NONDEPARTMENTAL HISTORIAN

Name Fields Office
Email Telephone
Rene Luis Alvarez
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
Assistant Professor, College of Education
Mexican American History; History of Education
2058 R-Alvarez3@neiu.edu 442-5622

PROFESSORS EMERITI

Charles M. Barber, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Modern Europe
J. Fred McDonald, Ph.D. UCLA, Popular Culture
J. Ignatio Mendez,Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Latin America
Joseph C. Morton,Ph.D. University of Maryland, Early America
Steven A. Riess,Ph.D. University of Chicago, Sports, Urban America, Ethnicity in America
Susan Rosa, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Early Modern Europe, Intellectual History
Gregory Holmes Singleton, Ph.D. UCLA, American Religious, Cultural and Social
P. Craig Smith,Ph.D. University of North Carolina,Russia and Eastern Europe
June Sochen, Ph.D. Northwestern University, American Cultural, Intellectual, Women, Popular Culture
Salme Harju Steinberg, Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, American Economic and Social History
Sue Sheridan Walker, Ph.D. University of Chicago, Medieval England