A Project by
the Museology Class
South Chicago Parks
Southeast Side Home Page
 South Chicago Introduction Page
South Chicago Parks Introduction
 Bessemer Park
Russell Square Park
South Chicago Parks Introduction

           Chicago has a unique park system which has expanded throughout the years and it includes about 550 parks. One of the first parks introduced to the city was Dearborn Park which was named in honor of General Henry Dearborn in 1839. 
            Parks now and in the past have offered the community a safe place to for children to play and for social activities. But most Chicagoans are not aware of our park history and the following will enrich our knowledge.  The community of South Chicago had two major parks. They were Bessemer Park and Russell Square Park.

Click on the links at the left to tour
Chicago's South Chicago Community.

Teachers' Center
National Endowment for the Humanities
Illinois University