Skip to main content
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Visit us for our Graduate School Open House on September 28. More information »

The graduate curriculum at Northeastern is governed by the Northeastern faculty and the Provost, through various elected committees of the Faculty Senate. The Graduate College Advisory Committee (GCAC), a committee which reports to the Faculty Council on Academic Affairs (FCAA), reviews graduate-level curriculum proposals after the college curriculum committees have approved them. Once GCAC approves a proposal, they pass it along to FCAA for final faculty approval before the final approval of the Provost. 

FCAA has developed guidelines and forms for the curriculum proposal process. The latest versions of these forms can be found on the FCAA website

Developing New Graduate Programs

To begin work developing a new program, departments should involve their college's Dean and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research early on in the process. GCAC has developed a rubric they use to review new program proposals. Program proposal authors will find the rubric helpful with the successful development and implementation of a new graduate program. 

The GCAC membership for the 2015-2016 academic year: 

Constituency
Member
Term Ends
Email
Arts & Sciences
Shannon Saszik (chair)
8/31/2017
s-saszik@neiu.edu
Arts & Sciences
Judy Kaplan-Weinger
8/31/2016
j-kaplan1@neiu.edu
Business & Management
Jian Li
8/31/2016
j-li3@neiu.edu
Business & Management
Myung-Ho Yoon
8/31/2017
m-yoon@neiu.edu
Education
MT Garreton
8/31/2016
m-garreton@neiu.edu
Education
Katy Smith
8/31/2015
K-Smith1@neiu.edu
Resource Professionals
Michelle Guittar
8/31/2016
m-guittar@neiu.edu
At-Large
Jeanine Ntihirageza
8/31/2016
j-ntihirageza@neiu.edu
At-Large
Melinda Storie
8/31/2017
m-storie@neiu.edu

 

 

Graduate Studies

Contact Us

T (773) 442-6012

graduatestudies@neiu.edu

Contact Us

Back to Top